The TCR expands to various regions of the world

The TCR expands to various regions of the world

Buenos Aires, Argentina, Juky 7, 2022 – The TCR concept continues to expand around the world. The arrival in South America last year explored new paths for this touring car motorsport that was born in 2015 and today already has more than 35 championships around the world and more than 1,000 cars manufactured.

In the midst of the pandemic and the difficulties that the moment entailed, the TCR South America was launched in Brazilian lands, and then passed through Uruguay and finished its first championship in Argentina. The last appointment, in Concepción del Uruguay (Entre Ríos), decreed Pepe Oriola (Spain), an experienced rider who had already traveled through different TCR categories, as the first champion of the specialty.

Just as the TCR gained a foothold in South America, in other parts of the world the championships have been held for some years. Divided into countries or regions, the tournaments are getting stronger and the champion drivers are getting to know each other in order to compete in some races in the World Touring Car Championship (WTCR).

In our review of some of the regional championships, the Asian, the European, the Eastern European, the Baltic and the Scandinavian appear. All of them had a champion in 2021 and it is time to meet them and learn about the different formats that each of the regions use to make up their tournament.

TCR Asia was largely dominated by Lynk & Co Racing. This vehicle, which was also the WTCR champion, stood out during the six rounds of the tournament thanks to Zhang Zhiqiang (China), who won six races, and the well-known Ma Qinghua (China), who won another four competitions. In short, of the twelve tests, ten remained for the 03 TCR of the Chinese firm and two in the hands of Zhang Zhendong and Cao Hongwei with MG Xpower models.

The calendar of this regional had competitions on Chinese soil, passing through Shanghai International Circuit, Zhejiang International Circuit and Jiangsu Wantrack International Circuit; two tests in Sepang (Malaysia) and the defining one in the Macao street.

Traveling to Europe, the championships start to become even more regional. On the old continent is the TCR Eastern Europe in which Michal Makes (Czech Republic) with a CUPRA Leon TCR took the title after having triumphed in three races. This division visited racetracks in Hungary, Slovakia twice, Poland, Croatia and the Czech Republic.

More compact and with only four events there is also the TCR Baltic where the overall leader was Valters Zviedris (Latvia) with an Audi RS 3 LMS SEQ. This regional that unites the Baltic countries disputes its races in major events where there is a special divisional for TCR vehicles.

Another one that has been growing stronger over the years is the STCC Scandinavian Touring Car Championship, which was in its eleventh season overall and the fifth under the TCR concept. The last champion was the renowned Robert Dahlgren (Sweden) with a PWR Racing CUPRA. This driver who passed through Volvo when the world category still bore the name of WTCC, achieved eleven victories in the 18 competitions that were held.

The most recognized of the regional tournaments is the TCR Europe. With a great participation of drivers and cars, last year the one who took the title was Mikel Azcona (Spain) with a CUPRA Leon TCR from Volcano Motorsport. In the seven dates in the championship that visited countries such as Slovakia (Slovakia Ring), France (Paul Ricard), the Netherlands (Zandvoort), Belgium (Spa), Germany (Nurburgring), Italy (Monza) and Spain (Barcelona), the Spanish that today is in the Hyundai team of the WTCR took six wins that placed him as leader of the general over the Argentine Franco Girolami.

Championships, drivers, cars and many more is what the new motorsport concept that is called TCR offers. 2021 was the beginning of the expansion in South America, 2022 is already marking extensive growth and 2023 will bring great news with the arrival of more models and the incorporation of the TCR Brasil.